Asia DNR (or DNS) spam

Asia DNR or DNS spam I just received this about a domain name that my company owns as I’m to the domain contact.

Dear CEO,  

We are a domain name registrar centre in HongKong, and in charge of the registeration in Asia,We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On the May21,2008, we received an application formally. One company named “Hkadtod Holdings Limited ” applied for the trademark:
” bayinfocomm”

    Domain names:
    MyDomain.cn
    MyDomain.com.cn  
    MyDomain.net.cn  
    MyDomain.org.cn  
    MyDomain.tw  
    MyDomain.com.tw  
    MyDomain.hk  
    MyDomain.com.hk  
    MyDomain.asia

    brand keyword:
        MyDomain
    through our body.

    After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company’s name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of  Luyun AP Company yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or as soon as possible.

In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is 10 workdays. If your company files no dissent within the time limit,we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by “Hkadtod Holdings Limited”.
Best Regards,
brent.lee
——————————————————————————————————————————————–
-Brent| Asia  DNR Auditing Officer |King Regards-
ASIA DNR  (HONGKONG)
Tel: +852-3075 9838
Fax:+852-3177 1520 | +852-3177 1510
: brent.lee@asiaip.org | brent.lee@dnrinasia.com
Website: 
Http://www.asiadnr.org      www.asiaip.org
Add:  3A, Units 20/F, Far East Consortium Bldg., 121 Des
          Voeux Road, Central, Hong Kong”

I was perplexed and was going to consult the legal department about the same. I was about to forward the with a covering letter asking for assistance but decided to check the hoping to get a better idea about what was happening as the whole thing seemed fishy.

When I googled “Asia DNR” the results confirmed my doubts that it was spam.

The question that was on my mind was how would the spammer gain? After researching I found that the only way they could gain was that once you respond to their they would offer to transfer the other domains (which are similar to the name of your company) for a transfer fee of about $300 per domain! Maysoft’s at http://blog.maysoft.org/blog.nsf has a pretty good explanation on how the scammers benefit.

The reason why this scam might get some results is that when one receives this kind of an the first reaction is to act and act fast without thinking much and I’m sure the spammers have managed to get responses from a lot of recipients of these kind of emails. Some of them would have paid for the additional domain names.

The lesson is that whenever you get similar emails for similar emails on a and that would help you judge whether the mail is spam or not.

Technorati Tags: ,,,,,,
Share and Spread:
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google
  • BlinkList
  • blogmarks
  • Furl
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Ma.gnolia
  • SphereIt
  • TailRank
  • Technorati
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Print this article!
  • Reddit
  • Simpy
  • Spurl
  • StumbleUpon

Related posts:

5 Comments

  1. Alice.Robertson 2008-05-23, 3:42 pm

    I received his mail too a few days ago, I was regarded as a trick too, but the domain name of our company was true and was registered by other companies now. I feel that regret very much

  2. ALIA 2008-05-24, 12:18 pm

    Hkadtod Holdings Limited is a domain names investment company in Hong Kong. they register others brand names

  3. ALIA 2008-05-24, 12:18 pm

    and then transfer in high price.

  4. lucy 2008-05-24, 12:23 pm

    This building-owner is a cheat, don’t be fooled, begin me and think too true, the domain name of our company was registered by others finally, I feel that regret very much

  5. jece 2008-05-24, 12:27 pm

    I suspect building-owners are a person suspected by us, why did he say so. Why cause us to obscure. Everybody must be cautious.

Add a Comment